10 Reasons Why I Rarely Wear Make Up!

If you know me, you know I don’t follow the usual mantra of women who wear make up either very often or on a daily basis so I wanted to share my reasons, for those who are interested, on why I personally don’t wear make up regularly.

1. Laziness – My number one reason, which shouldn’t come as any surprise to those that know me, is that I literally cannot be bothered to do anything half the time (unless I have to) so I definitely cannot be bothered to find the time or the energy to apply make up on a daily basis! I would say 99% of the time I am just too darn lazy; especially if it’s early in the morning! I try to do the bare minimum. Ain’t nobody got time fo’ that! I won’t even apply a  quick layer of concealer to hide my dark circles. Just no.

2. Bareface – Surprisingly enough in a world of insecurity, I am perfectly fine walking around in public showing all my facial flaws. Most of them are hard to see unless you come really close to my face – so I guess I am lucky in that sense, which I know it’s not the same for everyone. Even if I have a huge spot, I  obviously don’t like that it’s there, no one liks a spot, but everyone gets them so for me, it’s not a huge deal. It honestly doesn’t bother me. I know what skin trouble I have and I accept it. I accept my face for all it’s glory!

3. Lasting – Where most women will wear make up daily (which there is nothing wrong  with, each to their own) I obviously don’t and the perk to it, is that any make up I do decide to buy, whether it’s a £1 lipstick from MUA, or a £38 foundation from Too Faced, it lasts me a heck of a long time. Definitely more than most make up should last – and that goes for the beauty blenders I use to apply my make up with.

4. Occassions – I prefer wearing make up on special occasions, whether that be a wedding, a birthday party or an anniversary for example, because I feel like wearing make up for events such as those is better for me, then just wearing make up on the daily just because I can – plus, why would I want to go bare faced when everyone around me would probably be wearing make up and looking good? I’d probably look like the runt in the pack of women if that was the case! I’m only joking.. but seriously, I wouldn’t look as good!

5. Surprised – I like seeing people’s reactions to my made up face when I do decide to make the effort and take the time to do my make up properly. I won’t lie, I like the compliments from friends and family because it’s nice hearing positive things said about my appearance as I don’t get it everyday.

6. Wasteful – This point is purely just personal to me. Well, this whole post is my personal opinion, but you get what I mean. I think one of the main reasons why I barely wear make up daily is because for me, it’s a waste of the money I have spent on that make up. I don’t buy it to wear it every day, I buy it to wear it when I know there is a formal/flashy event taking place so I need to look nice. I like to wear make up when it’s for something, where I know it’s worth using that bit of foundation, concealer or lipstick. When it isn’t for anything speical, I just don’t see the point? I mean, it is probably because I don’t care enough about looking better, to spend time out of my day applying make up, when I could just be getting on with the day.

7. Animals – For the past two years, I have been trying to convert myself to cruelty free make up, which has contributed in me not wearing make up maybe as often as I could have (like for my 21st birthday meal with my family) because the research behind the brands that don’t test on animals, takes time and takes a lot of research to define which make up brands are cruelty free. Sure, there are many websites like PETA, where I can look to get a definite answer on most brands but sometimes there are brands I am looking for, that are not always on the website and I have to do more research.

8. Unknowledgeable – I don’t really know that much about make up (who would have guessed!?) and I guess I could practice more and get better at applying it, but then going back to my wasteful point, it just seems like a huge waste of money because I’d be applying it to then just take it off again straight after and that is all without even leaving the house? I can’t be doing that, it just doesn’t make any sense!

9. Emotions – Partly the reason why I do wear make up occasionally at special events is because people tend to give me compliments about it and I like the emotional feelings attached to when someone says something nice. (I mean, doesn’t everyone?) Also, because I don’t always wear make up, people do tend to notice it more when I am. Which is fab, as the nice comments flow through me like a bubble of confidence! Everyone loves to receieve compliments to make them feel better.

10. Ungirly – If you know me, you know I’m not the girliest of girls, I am more like a boy then I am a girl in some sense… I mean in my university house I was classed as an honourary male because I was the only female in the house and I am the least girly person they knew! (I think?) I do consider make up to be quiet a girly thing though and it’s why I do tend to avoid it a little because I’m just not girly, so I feel like I shouldn’t be applying girly make up, or that society goes against it.

So there you go, my own reasons for why I don’t wear make up. Why don’t you tell me in the comments why you do/don’t wear make up? I’d love to hear all of your reasons – any are welcome!

Hit that like button and stay beautiful everyone!

Leave a Reply

