Jojo Moyes: Me Before You | Review

This book was amazing. Honestly outstanding; from the writing of the whole book to the storyline and to the characters, it was fantastic! I enjoyed every single second of it to the point where I couldn’t put the book down until I had finished it.

Right from the beginning of the book, I was hooked. I wanted to know everything all at once before I had even gotten through the first chapter.

I was particularly intrigued about the main character Lou Clark, because she goes through what most people in the real world go through, which is really relatable to anyone that may read this and I’m a big fan of relatable storylines in fictional books!

We, as readers, get to embark on her entire journey. How she copes with losing her job and then trying to find another one with her limited skills set from working in a local cafe, and then how she deals with the new job – it’s all so fascinating and of course there are always twists and turns along the way.

When I got further into the book, I found it even more interesting to see whether she would suceed in her mission that she had set herself with the ideas from her sister, Katrina.

I enjoyed the insight I got into understanding what it was like to be a carer for a quadriplegic. As a reader, I know what the term means but I was never aware of how different life is for anyone who is a quadriplegic.

I absolutely love that Jojo Moyes created this storyline because it gives so much awareness to quadriplegia for those who have no idea what it is. It gives any reader the basic knowledge on how different people with quadriplegia may feel in reality as they go through their day to day lives.

One of the things that was perfect about the book was that it had enough description where it was needed. There wasn’t too much and there wasn’t too little. There was just enough throughout the book, so that me as the reader wouldn’t get bored of the tedious on-going description that just simply wasn’t needed.

The book gave me all the aspects that I needed as a reader and because it is written so well, I understood it all perfectly.

There were parts of the book that were just really funny that after I had read that certain part, I literally laughed out loud!

There is so much wit and sarcasm from both Lou Clark and Will Traynor throughout the whole plot and I absolutely loved it! There are only some authors that can pull off that through their writing and Jojo Moyes nailed it!

Focusing on the ending of the book – it wasn’t what I expected it to be. I hoped that it would turn out the opposite way to what it did, but I completely understand the reasonings for Jojo Moyes decision.

However, I liked the ending because it was more realistic to life in the sense that one type of solution doesn’t always solve everything. (I don’t want to give too much away to those that haven’t read the book, but for those of you who have, I think you understand what I mean.)

I am absolutely esctatically glad that Jojo Moyes has made another book, Another You that follows on from the end of this storyline. It gives readers that really enjoyed the first book, like me, the chance to continue to follow Lou Clark’s journey.

If Moyes had ended the book a different way, she wouldn’t have been able to create this second book because everything would have been a closed case and would have been way too predictable to write a sequel.

I am honestly so excited to read the follow up because if it’s anything like the first one, I am going to love it just as much.

If you are contemplating whether to read this book or not, I have made your decision easy for you – you should get it. It is available from every major book store and is available from Amazon too. It’s totally worth getting!

For more book reviews and to read what I have to say on the next installment of Jojo Moyes’ work, stayed tuned by hitting that follow button so you recieve updates when I publish a blog post!

Leave a Reply

