MUA Velvet Luxe Lip Lacquer | First Impressions! [Part 2]

As I loved creating the first blog post, giving you lovely readers my honest first impressions of three other shades from this liquid lip range, I decided to pick up some more to test out and do the same! So let’s begin…

Unfortunately this time, there wasn’t a 3 for 2 offer on, so I just went ahead and brought them at full price, from Superdrug, at £3 each.

I want to try ALL the nude shades in this range, but didn’t want to buy them at the same time, so I decided to go with the shade Harmony.

nude

I absolutely love the nude shades from this range! They suit my skin tone really well and I love how easily I can apply them.

Harmony isn’t too drying or rough once it’s dried; it feels nice on my lips, like I’m not wearing anything at all and I absolutely love that!

15823767_1466063156767341_1792048166_o

Harmony is very similar to Tranquility as they are both nude tones – so it’s obvious I was going to love this shade as soon as I picked it up!

What I love about this shade is that it’s subtle enough that it’s perfect for every occasion, no matter what it is. It can be worn anywhere and everywhere.

This shade is insanely pigmented that you don’t need more than one coat to get the right colour. I think if it was to be layered, it would become too thick and flaky.

Out of all three shades in this post, Harmony is my absolute favourite.

The next shade I brought was, Kooky.

16121644_1506338749406448_387522942_o

This is a shade that I never thought I would buy or even try on because it’s such a bold colour for me and with my pale skin, it will stand out like a sore thumb.

But I went for it anyway, because I am trying to go out of my comfort zone when it comes to make up.

The deep purple would look fabulous with a subtle nude eyeshadow look and would be perfect for a fancy occasion.

I really love the shade too, as I love purple – with it being my favourite colour!

15824418_1466063280100662_1138066529_o

I had a very difficult time applying this shade – as you can probably tell from the photo above!

I would continously go over my lip line and would try and take the product off the best I could around my lips without ruining the rest – but as it is a darker colour, it is quiet difficult to correct if a mistake is made.

It is definitely a shade I would wear, but not unless I was going out for a special occasion where it would fit that said occasion.

The only downside to this shade is I did find it to be quiet drying to my lips compared to Harmony, but it’s not enough that I wouldn’t ever wear it.

The final Laquer lipstick I brought was, Flair.

I wanted this because not only do red shades really suit my really pale skin, but because this shade looked gorgeous in the tube when I picked it up.

flair

I just adore this colour! It is absolutely gorgeous and would look amazing with any make up look and could be used as an everyday lip!

The warm red shade would also be perfect for the autumnal season – so I will definitely be wearing it alot then!

15824085_1466063160100674_1561205816_o

The downside to this shade: It can very easily be applied patchy – so this colour requires more attention to detail.

I did find this colour difficult to apply. I  spent ages trying to get it on right – probably a good half an hour and that isn’t an exaggeration!

As you can see from the photo, I had issues with keeping the product within the lines of my lips – just like Kooky.  I am still learning the best ways to apply darker colours – but I will get there in the end!

Thankfully, the patchiness with Flair isn’t because the colour isn’t great – because it is and very pigmented, it is because I didn’t apply enough product.

So when you pick this colour up and try it out, it will look amazing!

The only downside to this colour is that I also found it drying compared to Harmony. That might just be because of my lips or it might be because the pigmentation is different in darker colours and is made slightly different – but I wouldnt be able to give you a definite answer.

Overall, they are great shades and baring in mind that you can apply them better than me -they are totally worth the money! £3 is a major bargain for liquid lipsticks to wear daily.

I can’t wait to collect the rest of them – liquid lipsticks are amazing!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

